I have been building Bowed Psalteries for about 20 years and shortly after I started I saw the need to understand why a string does what it does. I did my homework and studied string theory until I understood the math. All of music can be expressed mathematically; the playing of music is art but music itself in all math. 

So with that said, I will try to explain why a string does what it does.

The tone a string produces when it is bowed has nothing to do with the note it is tuned to. If you want to prove this just tune any string down one note. Your tuner will tell you it is vibrating at the proper frequency but it will sound horrible.

Proper tone depends on the amount of tension on the string.

Since the note the string is tuned to is fixed, the only variable to adjust the tension is the vibrating length (this is the length between the hitch pin and the bridge).

There is a perfect vibrating length which will apply the correct tension which will produce the best tone for every note in the scale.

The secret to a sweet sounding Psaltery is having the correct vibrating length on each string.

If you ask most Bowed Psaltery players if their instrument has a "sweet Spot" they will say "yes, it does". The sweet spot is a portion of the range that sounds better than the rest of the range. It is usually somewhere in the center of the range. The longer strings sound course or "gravelly" and the shorter strings sound "tinny" or "screechy". The reason for the difference is the vibrating length of the strings in the sweet spot are correct and the others are not.

I will make a very bold statement. "If your Psaltery has all the pins on the right side the same distance apart then it is impossible the have the correct vibrating length on all strings.

I am in no way being critical of any specific design but what I am saying is true. If you doubt it, then "do the math" for yourself. Math doesn't lie.